KALEIDOSCOPE, 6 short pieces for small Orchestra, Op. 19a (1946)
March-Zingara-Musette-Berceuse-Chinese Carillon-Burlesque
1 (pic). 1.1.1.- Perc. Hp, Str.
Duration: 10'
Publisher: Associated Music Publishers, Inc.
Rental Agent: G. Schirmer, Inc.
Carillon 1(pic)111/1110/timp.perc/hp/str.
Duration: 3'
March 1Ipic)111/1110/timp.perc/hp/str.
Duration: 3'
Musette 1(pic)111/1110/timp.perc/hp/str.
Duration: 3'

Kaleidoscope started out as a set of piano pieces portaying life's fleeting moments from the aspect of the child. The pieces were dedicated to Miklós Rózsa's own children. Kaleidoscope #1, 3, 5 For Nicholas [Rózsa]. Kaleidoscope #2, 4, 6 For Juliet [Rózsa]. It was orchestrated by the composer in 1957.
Kaleidoscope is substantially two different compositions in its piano and orchestral interpretations. The piano is percussive and succinct, the orchestra lush and lingering. Rózsa's orchestration adds a bit of extra counterpoint in movements four and six.

Kaleidoscope Op.19B In 1946 Rozsa wrote a set of six short piano pieces for his two small children (three pieces each); later he scored them for smallish orchestra. In 1986 they achieved a third incarnation - Jonathan Snowden needed something to play as a 'fill-up' to the solo flute sonata, so the composer and Christopher Palmer collaborated on a transcription. The flute has an air of child-like innocence which makes it well suited to this kind of music. The pieces, though easy to listen to are devoid of condescension and are by turns lively, witty (in 'Zingara' the piano imitates the cimbalom) and unsentimentally warm (in lullaby').
Rozsa had already written a piece called 'First Sailor's Dance', a piano piece, real rustic, Hungarian stuff. that became the closing tune of Kaleidoscope, the 'Burlesque'. --------------------
This page serves as information for the 'Works' pages of